Topics: Human, Developmental psychology, Child development Pages: 20 (4450 words) Published: November 14, 2014

Classification of Four planes
First plane: Birth to 6
> physical development
> Intellectual development
> social development
> Emotional development
> Spiritual development
Second plane: 6-12 Years
> physical development
> Intellectual development
> social development
> Emotional development
> Spiritual development
Third plane: 12-18 Years
> physical development
> Intellectual development
> social development
> Emotional development
> Spiritual development
Fourth plane: 18-24 Years

Dr Maria Montessori was both a pragmatist and visionary. Her medical and anthropological background helped her to study human life from conception to the end of life. According to Dr. Maria Montessori the main goal of education is the development of complete human being , oriented to the environment and adapted to his or her time, place and culture. She based her educational plan, upon the observation of children in diverse cultures and in many countries. Her principles are universal principles of human behavior. As she worked with children and young adults, she gradually recognized the four planes of development in human life. Development is unique to human beings than any other living beings and it should be on ever ascending levels. Man does not receive an inheritance of a fixed behavior. He has to cultivate all his physical and mental faculties unlike the animals which are equipped by heredity. The child is born with the potentials and he is guided by nature through powers to become a man. Through her observation of human life the development is broadly classified into two parts i.e. fundamental and continued development. Fundamental development start from birth to twenty four years. It is the period required to create an integrated personality. According to Dr. Maria Montessori:

"A new Education from birth onwards must be built up. Education must be reconstructed and based on the laws of nature and not on the preconceived notions and prejudices of adult men." (Maria Montessori, The formation of man, Kalakshetra Press, Chennai, India, 2005, P: 91) Fundamental development is called formative years which is internal part of human life. The being is guided by natural laws and should be supported by assistance through right conducive environment. To provide right help or education towards development of being again, she divided this fundamental period into 4 planes.

Classification of four planes:
First plane--(birth-6 Years)--early childhood, (construction of the physical person). Second plane--(6-12 Years)--childhood, (construction of the intelligence). Third plane--(12-18 Years)--adolescence, (construction of social self). Fourth plane--(18-24 Years)--adulthood, (construction of self understanding). The first period of child development is the period from birth to the time when the milk teeth are replaced by another set of teeth. This period extends from birth to about six years. The second period ends with the attainment of puberty at about 12 years. The third period goes up to 18 years. It is at 18 years of age that the wisdom teeth begin to appear. The wisdom teeth indicate that the physical organism is reaching maturity. After the age of 18, the development of a person does not end, this age however fixes a boundary in the life of the child. The child exhibits prominent characteristics at about the sixth, twelfth and eighteen years of life. In the above periods the oscillations are individual differences. For example there are some children who at 6 years...

Bibliography: 1) The Absorbent Mind
(Kalakshetra publications, Madras, India, 2006)
2) What you should know about your child
(Indian Montessori foundation, India, 2013)
3) The Formation of man
( Kalakshetra Press, Chennai, India, 2005)
5) The Secret of Child Hood
( Orient Black Swan, India, 2009)
6) To Educate Human Potential
(Kalakshetra Press, chennai, India 2005)
7) From Childhood to Adolescence
(Indian Montessori Foundation, Indian, 2013)
( Paula Polk Lillard, Schocken books, New York, 1972)
2) Montessori Today
( Paula Polk Lillard, Schocken books, New York, 1996)
3) Creative Development in the child ( Vol I )
(Rukmini Ramachandran, Kalakshetra Publications, Madras, India, 1994)
4) Maria Montessori Her Life and Work.
( E.M Standing , A Plume book, 1998)
Continue Reading

Please join StudyMode to read the full document

You May Also Find These Documents Helpful

  • Essay about Planes of Development
  • The Four Planes of Development Essay
  • Planes Essay
  • Planes Essay
  • Four Planes of Development Essay
  • Montessori Philosophy: the Planes of Development Essay
  • four planes of development age 6 to 12 by Dr. Maria Montessori. Essay

Become a StudyMode Member

Sign Up - It's Free