Unit 10

Topics: Educational psychology, Developmental psychology, Play Pages: 7 (1971 words) Published: May 27, 2013

The Early Years foundation stage’s (EYFS) framework sets the standards that all Early Years providers must meet so that the children learn and develop well and are kept healthy and safe. It promotes teaching and learning to ensure children are ready for school and gives children the broad range of knowledge and skills that provide the right foundation for good future progress through school and life. This is from birth to 5 yr olds. ‘The EYFS is a new single framework for care, learning and development for children’ (Meggitt, 2008.P,244) The National Curriculum is essential part of the education system in England, and that it has a key role to play in securing the right of all children and young people to a broad and balanced education. The Government intends to introduce legislation this autumn to provide for a national curriculum in maintained schools in England and Wales, the age range is 5-16 yr olds. The key stages of the national curriculum are KS1, KS2, KS3 AND KS4.

EYFS has 7 areas of developments are:
1. personal, social and emotional
2. communication and language
3. understanding the world
4. literacy
5. mathematics
6. expressive arts and designs
7. physical development
EYFS: personal, social and emotional development is made up of the following aspects Aspects of good health and well-being for young children, as defined by different people in different manner. Healthy means leading a healthy lifestyle and being physically, mentally, socially, emotionally, spiritually and environmentally healthy. Document is a part of the early years foundation stage (EYFS) resources * Be healthy

* Stay safe
* Enjoy and achieve
* Make a positive contribution
* Achieve economic well-being

The different aspects of the national curriculum are:
* A unique child: child development, a skilful communicator and a competent learner: this meaning every child is a unique individual with their own characteristics and temperament. * Positive relationships: respecting each other, parents as partners, supporting learning and a key person: children learn to be strong and independent of loving and secure relationships with parents and/or a key person. * Enabling environments: (observation, assessment and planning), supporting every child, the learning environment, the wider context: the environment plays a key role in supporting and extending children’s development and learning

* Learning and development: play and exploration, active learning, creativity and critical thinking, areas of learning and development: children develop and learn in different ways and at different rates and all areas of learning and development are equally important and inter-connected.

D3 & D4 Age range 3-7
* Paintings: fine motor skills being hands on allows a child to be creative and be imaginative .This benefits children by having experience of playing with shapes, figuring out how shapes look combined, and then get to learn about colours and how they look when combined. If a child is lacking their creative side, parents can let their child and get creative, the parent can support

* Puzzles (recognises patterns and sequences): gross motor skills: 5½ years Copies sequence of letters and numbers correct. Colours between the lines 6 years: Completes complex puzzles, hopefully these lists give you an idea of your child’s gross fine development. Parents can support their child through puzzles by developing their cognitive development; children will need to think what piece will go where and also recognise patterns by thinking.

* Ball activity: Co-ordinated movement - running, catching a ball, throwing a ball etc, hands - should be able to grasp, fingers nimble and facial expression should now be in full use. The physical development stage is made up of the following aspects: Balance skills - balance and posture whilst moving

Manipulative skills - hand eye and eye...

Bibliography: Penny Tassoni Child Care & Education level 2
Penny Tassoni Child Care & Education level 3
Carolyn Meggitt Child Care & Education level 2
http://www.childrenscentres.org.uk/media/file/publications/ECAT Quality Indicators (revision 7)
Continue Reading

Please join StudyMode to read the full document

You May Also Find These Documents Helpful

  • Mushroom Unit Essay
  • Essay about Unit 5
  • Essay on Unit 5
  • Marketing and Pages Unit Essay
  • Essay about Barbara Norris: Leading Change in the General Surgery Unit Fall 2010
  • Biology Unit 2 Essay
  • Nebosh Unit D Assignment Essay
  • unit 5 p1 cell functions Essay

Become a StudyMode Member

Sign Up - It's Free